Coronavirus (COVID-19) Health Alert
Coronavirus (COVID-19) Health Alert

If you are concerned about Coronavirus go to the Australian Government Department of Health website for the latest medical advice and official reports by clicking here

Keeping our Community Safe - click on link to read Council's newsletter addressing Coronavirus - Newsletter 30 March 2020

Council services

Effective 30 March 2020, the District Council of Franklin Harbour has updated a range of measures to its operations. These measures are in response to the global COVID-19 pandemic, to ensure the health and safety of its staff and the community, while providing the continuity of essential services.

Details of this are set out below:

Council Office

For the safety of staff and the community all enquiries are encouraged to be directed to staff via phone or email, if you wish to contact the Council Office please call 08 8629 2019 or email

Playgrounds, parks and reserves

All playgrounds and skate parks are closed from Monday, 30 March in line with the Federal Government’s restrictions. Signage has been placed at these sites.

While our parks and reserves are still open for exercise, people are reminded of the Federal Government’s limit on two people per social gathering (with exemptions for members of the same household).

Visitor Information Centre, Craft Shop and Historical Museum

The Visitor Information Centre, Craft Shop and Historical Museum are all closed until further notice.

Visitor Information can be located at

Public Toilets & Showers

All public toilets remain open and the cleaning of these facilities has increased. Showers at Port Gibbon and Lucky Bay have been closed until further notice.


Due to the latest Federal Government restrictions, the Library has been closed to the general public. The library are operating a Call & Collect service for library patrons, and for those self-isolating are providing a Drop & Wave service were items can be delivered to your door, there are strict guidelines for these services and these services can change at any time, please contact the library on 8629 2320 for further information.

Refuse Site

The refuse site remains open and can be accessed by the general public at the normal opening times, please ensure social distancing is undertaken at all times whilst attending this site.


People are urged to avoid any non-essential travel plans, including holiday travel planned for the Easter long weekend and school holiday break.

This information will continue to be updated, last updated 2.30pm 31 March 2020.

Dismiss alert


2019 Australia Day Award Recipients

Citizen of the Year : Allan Zerna

Junior Citizen of the Year : Ethan Grigg

Event of the Year : EEPASSA Athletics Carnival

Since 1981 Australia Day Awards have been presented to community members at a public ceremony. The awards provide the community with an opportunity to publicly acknowledge the contribution made by certain individuals for the betterment of the district.


Australia Day Awards are awarded to community members who have made a significant contribution to the local community in any field. Nominations are called prior to the event for worthy recipients in the categories of:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Event of the Year

Past Australia Day Receipients






Julie Magnay

Laura Walker

JDRF One Walk Cowell


Robert "Bob' Schultz

Alexis Williams

Skate Park Committee - Opening o Skate Park


Jean Tonkin

Cowell Lions Markets 


Johanna Sampson

Cowell Ute Muster & Country Music Concert


Michelle Curtis

Kirralee Wagner

Cowell Ute Muster & Country Music Concert


Danielle Osborne

Jo Story

Cowell Ute Muster


Valma Tonkin


Bruce Francis

Jasmine Piggott

2010Bob Norris NIL  
2009Sam Bass NIL  
2008 Betty Franklin NIL  
2007 Verran King Stephanie Gale  
2006 June Franklin Kyla Hornhardt  
2005 Des JonesBen Franklin  
2004 Terry Hickman NIL  
2003 Joan Airy Andrew Story  
2002 Karen Wildman Sam Franklin  
2001 Vicki Elleway NIL  
2000 Margaret Deer Ben Deer  
1999 Sid Story Luke Tonkin  
1998 Jim West NIL  
1997 Daisy Maxted Troy Turner  
1996 Kevin Little Scott Brine  
1995 Glad Smith Aaron Turner  
1994 Coral Wiseman Lee-Anne Flavel  
1993 Lydon Carmody Jane Starr  
1992 Noel Ramsey NIL  
1991 Mollie Ogden Adrienne Todd  
1990 Ron Elleway Andrew Leggate  
1989 Roy Jacobs Rachelle McFarlane  
1988 Yvonne Wiseman Vanessa Crab  
1987 Gordon Schutz Aaron Turner  
1986 Mr A.E.F Bagnell NIL  
1985 Mr. John HansonNIL 
1984 John Burton NIL  
1983 Mr H.A. Schiller NIL  
1982 Ellen Schumann NIL  
1981 Eric Llewelyn NIL